The Macedonian Tomb of Lyson and Kallikles
This tomb, which comprises a rare sample of Hellenistic tomb architecture, was discovered in 1942 and is not open to the public, since, in order to protect its unique murals and inscriptions, it still remains completely buried under the ground. It is a simple monument, which dates back to the 2nd c. B.C., and is made up of an arch-covered rectangular chamber and a narrow antechamber with a flat ceiling. People belonging to four generations of the same family were buried here in special compartments in the walls, each marked by their name: Lyson, Euhippos, Kallikles, Sparte, Thessalonike etc. The ashes of the dead were placed in the twenty-two compartments which had previously been opened in the three walls of the chamber.
The family members must have held an important place in the military hierarchy of ancient Mieza, as we observe from the military gear which is depicted in the round hollows of the tomb: chest plates, shields, helmets, greaves and warriors' armour accompany the dead at their final resting place. The same armour, in the shape of dozens of silver coins which create a real imbricate chest plate, is still preserved even today in the folkloric happenings of Naoussa.